To contact us:

btu@developex.ca

tel.: (450) 665-7273

A FEW WORDS ABOUT THE OWNER ...

Benoit Turgeon is an Agronomist specialized in Food Science and Technology.  He obtained his degree from Laval University, Quebec City in 1977 and his MBA from the Ecoles des Hautes Etudes Commerciales (HEC), Montreal in 1988.

He spent half of his career at Continental Can and Crown Cork and Seal where he occupied various technical positions leading to Manager of Technical Services for Eastern Canada.  He now acts as a consultant for the company he founded in 1994, Developex.

As a consultant, he specializes in the various aspects of food conservation and food packaging.

One of his many assets is understanding the hazards which make foodstuffs so fragile and perishable.

A more important asset still is his ability to offer solutions which enable foodstuffs to safely reach their expected shelf-life.

Thermal processing has always been one of his responsibilities as well as one of his special interests. He is a member of the Institute of Thermal Process Specialists, based in Guelph, Ontario.  As a consultant, he has carried out multiple heat penetration and heat distribution assignments on several types of sterilizers and packagings. 

He is interested also in pasteurized refrigerated products (sous vide) and in alternative conservation (non-thermal) technologies which must ensure the integrity and the wholesomeness of food products throughout production and distribution. 

He offers training to his clients, directly on site or via a recognized technical school (ITA, Ste-Hyacinthe or LaPocatière).  Most of the clients are private corporations; however, MAPAQ (Quebec’s Dept of Food and Agriculture) and CFIA are also on the list of clients who received training from Developex.

In addition, he helps clients in their selection/development of new or modified packaging (product/packaging compatibility), in order to meet product shelf-life as demanded by the marketplace.  He also advises clients on the selection of thermal processing equipment and canning equipment in general.

During his career, he has had the opportunity to work not only in North America but also to carry out a few short-term assignments in developing countries.


!

Coordonnées

Voici nos coordonnées pour nous rejoindre:

btu@developex.ca

tél.: (450) 665-7273

Quelques mots au sujet du propriétaire ...

Benoit Turgeon est un Agronome spécialisé en Sciences et Technologies des Aliments.  Il a obtenu son Baccalauréat de l'Université Laval en 1977 et son MBA des HEC, Montréal en 1988.

Il a passé la moitié de sa carrière chez Continental Can et Crown Cork and Seal dans divers rôles techniques pour atteindre la responsabilité de Directeur du Service Technique pour l'Est du Canada. Il agit maintenant à titre de consultant pour la compagnie qu'il a fondée en 1994, Dévelopex.

Il se spécialise dans les divers aspects de la conservation des aliments et des emballages qui les protègent.

Un de ses atouts majeurs est de comprendre les risques qui rendent les aliments si fragiles, si périssables.

Un  atout plus important encore est d'être capable d'apporter des solutions pour que les aliments atteignent, en toute sécurité, la durée de vie espérée.

 

Les traitements de chaleur ont toujours été une partie importante de ses responsabilités - et ont toujours présenté pour lui un intérêt certain.  Il est membre de L'Institute of Thermal Process Specialists, basé à Guelph, Ontario.  Comme consultant, il a réalisé de multiples mandats de pénétration de chaleur et de distribution de chaleur sur plusieurs types d'autoclaves et plusieurs types d’emballage. 

Il est également intéressé par les produits pasteurisés réfrigérés (sous-vide) et par les technologies de conservation alternatives (non-thermiques), qui doivent assurer l'innocuité des aliments, tant en production qu'en distribution. 

Il offre de la formation à ses clients, directement sur place ou via une école reconnue (ITA, Ste-Hyacinthe ou LaPocatière).  La majorité des clients sont de l’entreprise privée; le MAPAQ et l’ACIA sont également au nombre des clients qui ont reçu de la formation de Dévelopex.

Il aide ses clients qui veulent choisir/développer des emballages nouveaux ou modifiés (compatibilité aliment/emballage), en vue de rencontrer la durée de conservation des aliments exigée par le marché.  Il conseille ses clients sur la sélection d'équipements de traitements de chaleur et sur les équipements de transformation en général.

Au cours de sa carrière, il a eu l'occasion de travailler non seulement en Amérique du Nord, mais il a aussi réalisé quelques mandats court-terme dans des pays en développement.


!